PDA

View Full Version : Need a new clutch, any suggestions?

pangaroo
10-15-2003, 11:25 PM
Well, the clutch is slipping, and although the District manager isnt any help, the Service Departent has decided to step up to the plate and treat the customer with some respect and care.

The will install an aftermarket clutch for me and cover the labor as long as I supply the clutch. SO.. which clutch do you recomend?

Im still new to the EVO world, butfrom the research I've done, Im looking towards the Clutchmaster or ACT.

I dont plan on dragging the car, but I would like to do some spirited driving and maybe an occasional road course. This is my daily driver, so I dont want anythings extreme, just something that will last.

I hear good things about ACT in general, but it seems that their setup runs the stock clutch plate. Is this worth it?

Clutchmasters, I have no experience with, and nor does anyone I know personally.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Coolguy949
10-16-2003, 06:48 AM
It's all about price too. I think the ACT is under 500 while the other brands are closer to 900 and 1000.

I also now have the Exedy single plate clutch available for the EVO 8. It retails for 1190 but I'll sell it to you for$ 1029 if you're interested in that.

Rob

leaveit2bevo
10-16-2003, 09:46 AM
I heard the exedy twin plate clutch is pretty streetable.

pangaroo
10-16-2003, 01:57 PM
Hey rob.. whats your price on the ACT with the Heavy Duty Clutch not the stock one. And how long would it take to get it here?

Lastly, can you get the SS Clutch line as well?

BOVBILLY
10-16-2003, 02:52 PM
Hey Rob,

How much does it cost for the installation of any clutch?

drmosh
10-16-2003, 05:49 PM
With a heavy duty clutch I don't think the SS clutch line is going to do much at all.

I personally would go for the Clutchmasters for price and if I wanted performance and sheer unbreakability I would get an Exedy Twin...

Coolguy949
10-16-2003, 06:46 PM
Henry and Billy,