PDA

View Full Version : Just installed Hotchkis springs

Takashi
12-09-2004, 01:56 AM
Well, I finally got around to installing a set of Hotchkis springs on the ole' Evo this past weekend. First of all, working on the car is a breeze... I have limited experience doing so, but with an extra hand and some air tools, it was really trouble free. I was especially impressed with the rear suspension design. A bit intricate, when compared to my old Subarus, but really slick. Plus, there's a ton of AL back there! :)

Anyhow, the springs are decent. Honestly, it's hard for me to say if they are a performance improvement or not. As should be expected, body roll was reduced. Plus turn-in and steering crispness did not diminish, as I have read other springs have done. Plus, the car looks more aggresive. It is definately a bit bouncier, and I'm already missing the extra travel, but for now the trade off is worth it.

Overall, I'm quite pleased with the springs, and for $125 shipped and a bit of elbow grease, it's definately worth it! Next on the bill: installation of the adjustable rear bar, and an alignment.

greg

kimletrim
12-09-2004, 08:53 AM
Interesting. Keep us updated as to how the springs wear on you for daily driving and track driving (if applicable). I am expecting these springs soon. I heard good reviews about them, but you are the first to say they are bouncier. Others have described them as a tauter suspension. I suppose I will have to wait for mine to come in and feel the results.

bogey8
12-09-2004, 09:41 AM
Are u still running with the stock Advans?

I want to get those springs but if they are too bouncy it wouldn't be good for my 100 mi a day commute.

I'm running Azenis ST-115 and they are a lot better on the fwy than the Advans and I'm hoping adding those springs won't make that much difference.

Let us know about the sway bar also, I may get that too.

Takashi
12-09-2004, 12:23 PM