PDA

View Full Version : Stock tracking

bd307
08-15-2006, 10:19 AM
I started a post couple months ago to ask you guys about some track days advices, and now, I THINK I am ready for the SOW event on end of the month.

However, I have concerns if the tires, and brake pads are able to withstand the weekend of "abuse" on the track.

I've been to SOW about 2 years ago with my other car, so this is my first time taking the Evo down there.

The following is what I have on my car now, please advice if the car is able to take the weekend:

Hawk Brake pads (HPS front and rear), Rotora Slotted and Drilled (front and rear disc), Sumitomo HTR Z II (most concern).

Eventually after a few events, I will buy another set of rims and RA-1 tires for track use only. But for the time being, I do not want to spend the money on ($500 rims and $700+ on tires = $1200) these yet as my skill is not up to what I would like.

Seek advices from those who track your car often (Richard?).

Another piece of advice I am looking for is where can I get a decent helmet with decent price? Last time when I looked into the helmet regulation, most of them want us to have a helmet with a certain required Shell number. Please advice.

Hope seeing you track whores there and show me some of your skill in the Evo.

;)

speedracer2169
08-15-2006, 10:26 AM
helmet you can get a cheap one at autobacs or borrow a motorcycle helmet.i think the pads are fine the rotors i'm not sure you may want to invest in stainless steel lines and if you have your stock rotors take those with you in case the rotoras crack. The tires probably wontbe stiff enough so expect some sidewall flex but at least its a good learning lesson O0

BlueBooster
08-15-2006, 10:47 AM