PDA

View Full Version : Driving at Streets of Willow in the rain

Skiracer
02-13-2007, 10:22 PM
Any tips besides slowdown?

ranmonbu
02-13-2007, 10:32 PM
Why bother? If you can't push your limits, why risk trashing your car? I've taken my IX to thirteen track days...but I'll never run on a wet track. I'm a dry track driver. I freely admit that I don't posess the superhuman rally driving skill it takes to control/throw a car around in the wet or dirt.

smokinevo9
02-13-2007, 10:34 PM
^^^^+1
why pay for something that you cannot fully enjoy O0

Fallen86
02-13-2007, 10:50 PM
might be more enjoyable with the slip and slide? just dont crash

Ricardon
02-13-2007, 10:58 PM
Any tips besides slowdown?

Yep...have fun. SOW in the rain is made of a lot of win. If you aren't shooting for time, and just out there for fun then I'd advise not pushing too close to the edge of the course on exit. Late apex as much as you can to be sure of this. You don't really want to have an off when the runoffs are muddy. It's a great way to get your roof dirty. Other than that, there are some portions of the course that can be wicked amounts of fun in the wet. Once again, this is only if you don't care about lap times and are out there to just have fun. People that say don't go to the track when its wet, I dunno I always found it much more challenging and fun in the wet. The EVO is damned good when it's dry outside, but you have no idea how GREAT the car is in the rain until you've driven it in those conditions. It's a fairly safe comment to say that it pretty much owns in the rain.

jnathan68
02-13-2007, 11:11 PM
I used to road race in Florida and loved getting the chance to run in the rain every once in a while.