PDA

View Full Version : tune questions

jazznevoluva
08-09-2007, 09:31 AM
I PMed Alfred yesterday, so I figure I'll post this while I wait for his response. I've got the RRE 2.4 and 3076 turbo with a ton of supporting mods. I'm new to dyno tuning(never dynoed my car), so Im looking for some insight/opinions.

I have an AFC NEO. Alfred lists the SAFC II as one of the devices he tunes. Since these AFCs are very similar, I assume the NEO can be tuned by TT on the dyno?

Would a flash tune by a better option considering my extensive mods?(i dont have AEM EMS)

Is it worthwhile to change the adjustable cam gear settings between pulls to help optimize the power band?

Considering my mods, what boost level would be recommended for a "safe" dyno tune on 91 octane?

Thanks guys! :laugh:
John

jazznevoluva
08-09-2007, 09:49 AM
They don't have a dyno and Scott Gray is out of town until after September. I was considering having Mike tune it, but I would need to leave it overnight which is kind of difficult for me since i live 2.5 hours away from RRE....

Tuning Tech is the closest shop to me with a dyno, and they seem to have a great rep. O0

vortech_g35
08-09-2007, 10:54 AM
Safe Tune would be probably 20-25 psi on crap 91.

jazznevoluva
08-09-2007, 04:37 PM
Thanks. Anyone from TT?

G20
08-09-2007, 04:52 PM
AFC NEO is very similar to the old SAFC but can only hold one setting (or map if you called it).
Safe boost is the maximum possible boost with minimal knocks. It'll probably between 21-24 psi on 91.
Flash will be better since it modified more detail information from the ecu. Your AFC can be a good on-the-fly adjustment on top of the reflash for the air/fuel compensation.

Hope it help.

Smogrunner
08-09-2007, 07:30 PM
I PMed Alfred yesterday, so I figure I'll post this while I wait for his response. I've got the RRE 2.4 and 3076 turbo with a ton of supporting mods. I'm new to dyno tuning(never dynoed my car), so Im looking for some insight/opinions.