PDA

View Full Version : first official post, new owner of evo 9 mr. Drivetrain maintenance suggestion.

klomast3r
10-30-2008, 10:58 AM
Because Im a newbie, I did tried searching, reading sticky, and googling for help. But what Im getting are mixed answers. Hopefully someone with an Evo 9 MR can help guide me.

For peace of mind, I would like to completely change all neccessary oils at once...

Engine Oil - I will be going with mobil 1
Transmisson oil - not sure because its 6 gears, need oem equivelent
Transfer oil - oem or equivelent ?
Rear Differential - oem or equivelent ?
ACD oil or fluid? not sure if neccessary.

I do have the information as to how much oil each takes, but not sure as to what brand to put.
Looking to purchase all at once. If you know any site with good price and shipping. Please let me KNow.

Thanks in advance.

Klo

evobros
10-30-2008, 11:02 AM
dont take it to MFQ motorsport.....

vietman
10-30-2008, 11:26 AM
transmission bf syncro
transfer diaqueen
both can be purchased at south coast or any of their sister stores

j_nizzle
10-30-2008, 11:35 AM

engine oil = anything full synthetic 10w30, about 4.5 quarts

transmission = i believe it is rated at 75w90 but BG synchroshift is good (SCM sells it in individual containers and you'll need 3 for the transmission)

Differential/Transfer case = i believe this is also rated at 75w90 and the oem is Diaqueen, i have used Redline Heavy Shockproof with good results...with the colder weather approaching, i might use the lighter formula. about 1 quart for each.

ACD = i believe this just uses normal atf fluid, but you can also double check at a dealer.

Good luck...dont forget coolant and/or your cabin air filter either since you're doing some routine maintnence. how many miles are on your car? you might need to replace some belts too.

JOOTZ
10-30-2008, 11:37 AM
i used BG and redline for the driveline, all purchased at RRE

klomast3r
10-30-2008, 02:20 PM