PDA

View Full Version : Evo noob needs help...

plan:b
07-22-2009, 06:51 PM
I am new to Evo's but not new to the import community. I own a high performance Honda shop in Orange and I purchased my first Evo last may. We specialize in NA builds so this turbo stuff is still new to me...HELP...

EVO X GSR - Harman Motive UICP, Harman Motive intake 4700 miles. I know the intakes lean these things out and mess w/ maps. I have launched it a few times and I drive it like I stole it sometimes.

I had it tuned when I left the dealership. Ran great. Put the Intake on (no tune). Ran great. Put on the UICP (no tune), ran fine for 2 weeks then....

Lets say I shift from 1st to 2nd, rpm is at 4000, then I mash and rmps surge to 1000 and then drop 200 rpms and its fine. At first I thought it was a slipping clutch. Then I hooked up a reader and it shows P1320. I know what it is because I searched. But I noticed other people w/ this code havent mentioned my same symptoms. It feels like clutch slip but then it grabs and is fine through out the rest of the rpm range. Shift into 3rd, same thing happens. Does it from 2nd through 5th gear. Also happens on the freeway in 5th and I change lanes to pass. Surges 1000 then its fine. Doesnt happen if im easy on the throttle. DOES happen at anything over 50% throttle. I had a buddy whos a tech drive it and we did a stall test. Stall test was fine and he said doesn't seem to be the clutch. I'm just not sure. When the rpms jump there is NOT a loss of power. The car goes with it like there is a short boost of power. Does anyone have an idea of what this may be? Could it be because I have not tuned it after the intake and uicp mods?

Thanks in advance for the help.

toku-one
07-22-2009, 07:01 PM
P1320: Ignition Timing Retard Insufficient

id assume the combination of pipes and already being tuned and leaned out over stock is causing you to run too lean and it cant pull enough timing.

id get it tuned for your set up asap

07-23-2009, 07:47 AM