PDA

View Full Version : Im a bit Freaked out...

strat10
07-30-2009, 09:50 AM
So far, I have the blown engine count at 4. Some because of a Ring issue, and a few that are a mystery, and thats just the ones on EvoM and this board. Does this seem like a lot? I have also noticed that all of them have been tuned. To me it doesnt seem like its any particular tuner's fault, but it is a new engine, and maybe tuning it pushes it a bit to far? I also have a tune, and maybe I am just paranoid here, but an engine blowing up would really wreck my day.

I allways thought to my self if anything really bad happens to the car, put it back to stock and let Mitsu deal with it. Well, now I hear that there is a "counter" on the ECU, and the factory can tell when a car has been tuned in the past.

Im really a pretty mellow driver, And its rare but there are times that I just like to pound through the gears! Hell, that why I drive an Evo. I would like to have some fun days at the track also. Now, I think about the blown engines when I do and it just kind of bums me out.

I guess Im just paranoid, but when do I start worrying about this, and take the car back to stock? Has anyone else thought of this?
I know there are inherent risks to modding a car, but blowing up the engine is a bit to much for me.

2muchboost
07-30-2009, 09:53 AM
I think that blue AMS X is making 450+ WHP and they track the crap out of that car.
Its on a stock block with 10k+ track miles..
The motor is strong and holds power.Â* The deciding factor is what parts you use and who tunes your car...

1WkdEvo
07-30-2009, 09:54 AM
Someone is going to look at your mod list, see your tuner, and tell you to go elsewhere since 2 engines have blown after being tuned by your tuner. Â*Was it their fault, I don't know since they also have several X's that are tracked heavily and have had no reported issues.

Good luck

Skiracer
07-30-2009, 09:55 AM