PDA

View Full Version : High pitch whistle from car???

ospeeddemino
08-04-2009, 01:42 AM
Ok, so I'm normally pretty Knowledgable with cars, but the evo is new to me so sorry if I sound like a newb....

I have a stock Evo X gsr with about 800miles on it. I'm hearing a very high pitched whistle come from the car at idle. The sound cannot be heard standing above the engine bay, but is originating from underneath the the engine bay bear the firewall.
Now I'm kind of new to the whole turbo thing, but i've never noticed a turbo car make this high pitched whistle before. If I rev the motor, the engine noise drowns the sound out. Maybe it's a very small exhaust leak or something?

Well, my main question is, is this sound normal on the X's or not?

big boss
08-04-2009, 01:56 AM
No its Not a normal sound!!! The only time i had a high pitch sound was due to my HKS BOV... back then but when i had it bone stock i never heard that noise... :-o

imprezivevo
08-04-2009, 02:32 AM
funny thing....i too have this sound, but it is only when i drive, at idle i hear nothing but...this sound did become more apparent when my AEM intake was installed hmm i'd like so see the possibillities

big boss
08-04-2009, 02:37 AM
Well yah wen im driving u hear the Stock BOV as im letting off the gas pedal with an after market intake...But not when im just parked...

CICreations
08-04-2009, 05:26 AM
Maybe this is your problem?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n79jSzKA0L8

jdmcwestevo
08-04-2009, 06:39 AM
if u have an aftermarket bov than it is probably out of adjustment and leaking at idle list of mods would help

ospeeddemino
08-04-2009, 08:58 AM
Hahhahaha, woowoo! Funny thing is, that's what my car sounds like at idle. When I'm on the throttle it's drowned out by engine noise. My car is completely stock. I've only had it for a few weeks

[neo]
10-19-2009, 03:42 PM