PDA

View Full Version : Painting EVO X Hood Scoop

eVolootion
09-22-2009, 04:57 PM
Hey Guys,

I have a RR Evo X and wanted to paint the hood scoop black. I was wondering if anyone knew how to do this and what type of paint I should use? Also, do i have to sand the part down or does it just have to be cleaned before I paint it?

Thanks guys

imprezivevo
09-22-2009, 08:38 PM
just a few suggestions, i'm not a professional painter...but through my experience, sanding is needed and then a primer coat, another sand job, then first layer of paint, then second, and if you want it to be alittle more reflective, use clear coat as well after you finish the second coat...all in all use an actual spray gun if you want to avoid the inconsistent stream of the spray can...well that's my 2cents good luck hopefully someone has better info...and if all fails take it to a shop and get it done, shouldn't cost that much.

Blaze
09-23-2009, 03:52 PM
I'd recommend you just take it into a shop.
It'll cost you about 50 bux or so.

If you f it up with krylon, you'll regret it later....

BigDaddyLex
09-24-2009, 01:11 PM
I'd recommend you just take it into a shop.
It'll cost you about 50 bux or so.

If you f it up with krylon, you'll regret it later....

+1 on that.... the hood is to expensive to replace if it comes out nasty

iamaiun
09-24-2009, 01:41 PM
I did the same thing with my car and I couldn't be happier with the result, especially since I spent less than $20.
First off, you need to wet sand the hood scoop (unscrew it from your hood obviously) until you can see the clear coat coming off. I recommend 1200 grit, since that's what i used.
Then once you've evenly sanded it, I used Duplicolor grey primer, Duplicolor flat black paint, and Duplicolor clear coat. The reason I used flat blackĀ* is because the clear coat gives your hood scoop a semi glossy look, which is just about right. If you use gloss black, it may end up being too glossy for your taste.