PDA

View Full Version : should i get UICP? or no?

nick198867
09-30-2009, 04:03 PM
hi guys,
im new to Evo X, i was wondering if i will get any different on UICP with a tune?
thanks
Nick

apexct9a
09-30-2009, 07:16 PM
What mods do you already have? An UICP wont help really with power on a stock evo, if you evo is still a virgin i wouls start at the exhaust and move toward the engine, with the only exception being a intake or at least a drop in panel filter. For example ( Catback exhaust, test pipe or high flow cat, downpipe, o2 housing, ported exhaust manifold, a intake or k&n type filter, and a tune. With those mods you can get a nice increase in power. After that cams, bigger intercooler, and less restrictive ic pipes would start to help squeezing what you can out of the stock turbo until you junk it and go with bigger if you decide to.

nick198867
09-30-2009, 09:11 PM
thanks for answering me, but i can't really done much due to my parent.
my goal is around 300 hp and torque to the wheel, well, of coz higher is better.
i just got the car, and im planning to get a hermen intake and a tune. do you think i can get the number that i want? and what else do you recomment? again, i can't do something that is very obvious, so exhaust is a NO for sure.
please help.

apexct9a
09-30-2009, 09:42 PM
I would go with a intake that is carb exempt im 99% sure the aem intake is exempt for the X since the carb number is CARB EO #: D-392-31 . Megan racing has a stealth flat black cat back that is fairly quiet my friend has one. Now if what your saying is your parent's dont want you to mod it then i would go with a intake and mild cams with a tune. but the biggest bang for the buck is to open that exhaust with a free flowing one.

My recommendation for your situation is this:

AEM intake $283
brian crower stage 2 mild cams $550
Invidia One Piece Down-Pipe/Test-Pipe $262

you should get over 300awhp easy with a tune while keeping the stock catback.

nick198867
09-30-2009, 09:55 PM