PDA

View Full Version : what amp and what sub

Speed[Y]
10-24-2009, 04:42 PM
im a total noob when it comes to car audio! Lol, anyways i have a IX and want to add a little extra bass. what amp would you recommend and with what sub..i was thinking of getting a 10" JL Audio 10W0v2-4 sub (not interested in anything bigger), but not sure what amp to couple with it to make it sound good, i was thinking of the Rockford Fosgate Prime R150-2 amp, what do you guys think of that setup? any help will be appreciated! not looking for anything fancy just something that works good at a decent price.Â*
oh one more thing, would i be able to use the stock headunit with the aftermarket amp and sub?

thanks,
VG

Drifting Away
11-03-2009, 10:58 AM
Thats a good entry level sub for what it does, dont expect heart stopping bass though. The amp is a 2 chan amp and would not power that sub (the sub is 2 0hms with 300 RMS) I would reccomend the Rockford Fosgate r500-1 which will get you the 300 RMS out of the sub with room to upgrade the sub if its not what your looking for. Hope that helps you out.

Speed[Y]
11-03-2009, 12:36 PM
thanks for the info, yeah im not looking for any 'skip a heartbeat bass' lol. another question is am i able to use the stock headunit so i can keep the stealth look?

vg

Drifting Away
11-03-2009, 02:16 PM
I wouldn't with the stock mitsu head unit, save your self trouble and get a aftermarket headunit that you will enjoy.

panda
11-09-2009, 03:55 AM
i had a polk sr124dvc in my jeep and i liked it a lot, now im just waiting to get it installed in my evo :D

Speed[Y]
11-10-2009, 04:31 AM
what do you guys recommend as far as stock looking but still ipod compatible (spelling)?

Drifting Away
11-10-2009, 10:00 AM
What do you mean by stock looking?

phoreal
11-10-2009, 10:20 AM
If you want sumthing stock looking try the kenwood kdc-138 and its ipod compatible

Speed[Y]
11-14-2009, 02:30 AM
What do you mean by stock looking?

not so flashy and bright lol