PDA

View Full Version : Please help with hid issue

909 WW GSR
10-15-2012, 02:32 AM
Hi guys, noob here hopefully in right place. Here's my problem, I have 2010 x gsr with the SSS package, I bought the car used with 20,000 miles. A few days ago I noticed my driver side hid light was real dim and the passenger side is nice and bright. Is the way hids slowly die out? I noticed it after the rain fell a couple days ago maybe some water got in the wiring? Anyone with hid knowledge can tell me if there's a fix or more about my situation? Also will factory warranty cover the light if it needs replaced? Thanks for any help

ufcgsp27
04-02-2013, 09:23 PM
you still might be covered under warranty. not sure. just call dealer.

ufcgsp27
04-02-2013, 09:24 PM
i have a slight HID issue too, one of my headlights cut off line doesnt match the other... had it checked by the dealer and they found nothing...

Zimbabwe
04-08-2013, 11:45 AM
I am pretty sure there is a recall on these lights due to the mechanical motor burning out or something. Just go to the dealer and say you'd like your headlights to be switched for recall. I had the option to switch mine last time i was in but figured id wait until something breaks.

tomahawk
05-01-2013, 05:11 PM
Yeah I've heard about that recall. I should be going next week and checking that out. Ill let you know if they cover it.

Macky
05-02-2013, 07:25 AM
OP - if you are within the basic warranty period (3 years or 36,000 miles, whichever comes first), headlights should be covered.

the dimming sounds like a ballast problem to me. its almost as if there isn't enough voltage to sustain the discharge arc in the HID bulb.

909 WW GSR
05-14-2013, 02:00 AM
OP - if you are within the basic warranty period (3 years or 36,000 miles, whichever comes first), headlights should be covered.

the dimming sounds like a ballast problem to me. its almost as if there isn't enough voltage to sustain the discharge arc in the HID bulb.